What Will You Choose For Yourself Today?

Is anyone else finding the news a bit too much to bear these days? Every time I turn it on it seens there is another corporation about to go under,  or a bank that needs to be bailed out. Pundits proclaim that President Obama’s stimulus plan has failed when it has hardly even begun, and the list goes on.

At the same time, in my own life, my work keeps me hopping. I am fortunate to work for my son, and to help sell products that can make enormous positive changes in people’s lives.  I get to hear wonderful reports about how someone’s brain is functioning better, how a child has begun to speak, another child has begun to socially engage for the first time. What could be better than such news?

My reality is so different than everything that I hear on the news, and I have decided that it is counter productive to pay much attention to what the media reports. Instead I am focusing on all the good things that are happening around me, and am determined to co-create even more. We have enormous opportunities to make changes for the better in the midst of this crisis. We can take a close look at our lives and decide what is really important. We can strip away the non essentials that really don’t add anything to the quality of our lives and focus instead on the people and things that are most important. It is our choice, and I hope that all of  us will find common ground here.

Brian Swimme,  who has a PhD in gravitational dynamics, is a cosmologist  at CIIS  in the Bay area, and an extraordinary story teller. He has a way of describing the creation of the earth that  brings everything into focus for me. I remember sitting in workshops, enthralled as he talked about how infinitesmal the chance was that everything came together to create the conditions for life to exist on this planet. If you are feeling hopeless,  or depressed by what is happening right now, please go find a copy of The Universe Is a Green Dragon,  read an excerpt here: http://www.context.org/ICLIB/IC12/Swimme.htm  and watch him tell the New Story here:    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TRykk_0ovI0

Savor the miracle that is today and know that you have the power of the universe behind you.

Leave a Reply

